I keep talking about music players because my post unleashed a great discussion among users on Google+. There are people who likes Rhythmbox, like me, people who totally hate it, people who suggests to use mpd (no way, man), people who uses Amarok (of course, you’re in KDE).

Even though I use Debian, I still follow the Ubuntu news on OMG! Ubuntu, because the website is very nice, articles are interesting, I like to keep up to date with Ubuntu, too and since it’s a derivative of Debian, many Ubuntu designed apps can be installed on Debian, too.

Harmony is one of them, I just read about it in a OMG! Ubuntu post. Harmony is a cross-platform open source music player (it runs on Linux, there are deb, rpm and source code, Windows and MacOS). You will say “aw, another music player? We’re sick and tired of them!”. Wrong. Harmony is very particular because it makes the needs of those who have a physical music library on their computer and the needs of those who are cloud based meet. Indeed thanks to this music player you can both listen to local files and stream your favorite music from a wide range of cloud music streaming services like Spotify, Google Play Music and Deezer. Cool, isn’t it?

screenshot

The UI resembles the older version of iTunes, with the left sidebar, the coverflow and the search bar in the top right corner, but is nice, neat and not confusing. Settings menu can be summoned by clicking on the gear icon in the bottom right corner.

Harmony is currently at version 0.4.4, so its features are still limited, in particular we don’t have cross fading, id3tag editor, a graphic equalizer. The great drawback it has, but this is a personal thing, it doesn’t read m4a files and my music library is entirely made of m4a files (yes, once I had an iPod nano). Also, since my music library is entirely uploaded on Google Play Music, I can’t stream anything from this service. So far, for me, Harmony is just a Spotify client. I repeat, it’s version 0.4.4 and there’s huge room for improvement.

However, if you don’t have such a problem, I suggest you to give Harmony a try. You can build it by cloning the git repo or just download the binary package from here.

Leave a Reply

