There’s another rock radio in town. Recently, here in Italy, Radio Freccia has started broadcasting. Radio Freccia is a radio station rock oriented, mainly classic rock; it’s a kind of radio that must be placed in the segment where, until few weeks ago, Virgin Radio was the only player.

This new radio has been named after Radiofreccia, the cult movie directed by the popular Italian singer Ligabue, their claim is “free as we are” and they take inspiration by the 70s when the first FM radio stations were free to play whatever they wanted.

But this is not the point of this post. Yesterday, while I was driving, I was listening to this new radio station. I don’t know the name of the show nor the name of the dj, but the theme was “how did you start listening to rock music?”. Of course, since I was driving, I couldn’t send a whatsapp to the show to share my experience, but this question inspired this post: I want to share with you how I started listening to rock music.

I was 15. At that time, the only music in my life was dance, commercial and a little bit of house, seasoned with the top charts pop music. I used to go to the disco every weekend, I always had the tunz tunz in my head, Radio Deejay was the only radio station allowed. The only thing I knew about rock was Red Hot Chili Peppers. Going further back in time, when MTV was actually a music television playing music videoclips all day long, I think it was 1999, top charts here in Italy were dominated by the Backstreet Boys, Britney Spears, Madonna and Celine Dion with her song for Titanic soundtrack. Among them, there were Red Hot Chili Pepper.

Now, I have to add that I am an early riser and that my tv was constantly set on MTV. So, one morning I woke up at 6.30 to have my breakfast before school, and while eating, I used to watch a little bit of MTV. Well, my reaction to the initial riff of “Around the world” was just one: wow.

But this didn’t light my fire. It took 5 years more. It happened by chance. I was listening to some radio station, I don’t remember which one. They were playing an old song, I wasn’t pay too much attention, until a certain point. I heard an incredible sound, it was so beautiful, so clean, it was celestial. I felt strange, I felt something in me, I had a sort of epiphany. Do you want to know what it was?

It was Slash. It was Slash’s solo in “Knocking on Heaven’s Door”.

Leave a Reply

