I’ve been using Debian for 4 years. I started with Ubuntu 10.04, which was LTS and stayed with it for several months but I dropped it in favor of Debian for several reason:

  • A new version every 6 months, man? Are you out of mind? The updating tool to advance from a version to another at that time, often failed so you would have gotten an unusable system, to the point that users in Ubuntu forum suggested a clean install when it came the moment to upgrade your Ubuntu version. No way man.
  • Unity: at the time I had a crappy laptop, an old 2004 Hp Compaq nc 6000 with a single core Intel Centrino and 2 gb of ram and a more crappy ATI video card. No way I could run ATI proprietary drivers to get Unity work properly.
  • If you don’t know what you’re doing, in Ubuntu it’s very easy to mess everything up adding indiscriminately external PPAs to have a newer version of packages and applications which, otherwise, would have never updated anymore. Actually I hated this policy; at least in the LTS versions you got security updates to fix some bugs but stop here.

I’ve switched to Debian testing, I believe at that time was Squeeze but I don’t care about the name since Debian testing is rolling, in the sense that you can install it and never care about version upgrades, because packages are constantly updated. I installed Debian on that very crappy laptop, that, when power was needed, the fan made the same noise as a vacuum cleaner. Debian + KDE. In spite of what people says about KDE, if you remove all animations and decoration you have an honest and high customizable OS, really fast and smooth.

Afterwards, I changed laptop, I bought an Acer E1 with the intel core i5 4200 U, the intel HD 4400 (I didn’t need a discrete video card), 8 gb ram. It came with Win8.1 and, because of the damn UEFI, I went through hell to set up a dual-boot (FYI, I used refind, if you need it one day) with Win8.1 (I didn’t feel like removing it, I PAID for it) and Debian. Well, I bought this laptop in January 2014 and I never had the need to replace Debian with a newer version, updates are constant. And the experience with my laptop is amazing, everything worked out of the box (except for the fn keys to adjust the screen brightness, but I solved this issue). And, Gnome shell is the best DE available now as then.

screenshot-from-2016-11-25-08-03-26-resized
This is my desktop. Isn’t it nice?

Why I like Linux so much and why you should consider to try it?

  • it has a certain learning curve but, once you went through it you’ll realize how much easy is Debian or Ubuntu or Mint to use; really, it’s much more immediate than Windows.
  • You have no virus. Ok, that’s a lie, actually there exist some malware that can strike Linux system but consider this: Windows is used by billions people, while Linux is installed in few millions people’s computer, so why bothering to create a virus for few people when you can infect and harm billions computers?
  • As a consequence of the previous point, the system requires fewer resources to run and less time to boot
  • Customization. Oh, man, Linux is customization heaven. You can change everything to your need, the colors, the fonts, the icons, the background, the dimension of fonts, the padding of the buttons, the width and the height of the notification popups as well as where these notification popups will appear. Are you tired of your DE? Just change it in a few commands.
4 thoughts on “Moving from Ubuntu to Debian and more

  1. I love Debian as well. I use it on all of my servers. I used to use it on my desktops as well, but I’ve largely given up on it for desktop use and went back to Ubuntu. Not vanilla Ubuntu, but Ubuntu GNOME. In my opinion, Debian isn’t suitable for most desktop use. The problem, for me, is the the three-tiered approach (stable, testing, unstable).

    Stable is great if you want a desktop that’s solid and doesn’t change or break. However, it’s absolutely terrible if you want to use it on brand-new hardware. I’ll have hardware not detected properly, or hardware that is detected but not all features are usable. Debian Jessie, for example, will barely function at all on my Skylake System 76 laptop. Then there’s testing, but I’ve found it to be too unpredictable for my use. Unstable, not a chance.

    Using Debian, I find myself always waiting for the next release to get full hardware support, since I decide to only run stable and not mess with testing. What I like about Ubuntu LTS is the hardware enablement updates, that keeps the hardware support current, but the underlying distribution remains solid and stable. Granted, I could install a newer kernel from Debian Backports, but security updates aren’t officially supported.

    To me, I cannot consider or recommend Debian in regards desktop/laptop use. Debian DESPERATELY needs hardware enablement updates. And by no means am I saying Ubuntu is better. I love Debian, it’s my favorite distribution, bar none. It’s just that Debian completely misses the mark in regards to hardware support again and again. I really wish that Debian would adopt better hardware enablement, and I would totally use it on everything. Here’s hoping that they do, some day.

    Like

    1. Of course, there are hundreds of points to be considered. But I’ve decided to share those that for me are the main reasons to consider to switch from any Debian based distro to Debian

      Like

Leave a Reply

